This Tab is found by clicking on a WorkSpace in either the WorkSpaces search list under the admin tab or via the reports section
From the drop down menu on the right
- Refresh – This will refresh the screen with the latest info
- RDP – If RDP is enabled in the settings menu it will download an RDP file so you can connect to the user’s WorkSpace. Note, this is not shadowing a user. It just lets you get on to their WorkSpace to look at processes, memory, etc. Username and password must be compatible with the WorkSpace credentials.
- Dameware – In this example it is Dameware however we can ustilise most shadowing session software options. Please reach out to email@example.com if you would like to know more
- Reboot – Reboots a users WorkSpace
- Recovery Reboot – In the event of your WorkSpace residing on faulty host and it will not start, a recovery reboot will move it to another host.
- Restore – Restores a user’s WorkSpace to the last known ‘good’ backup (AWS automatically takes backups every 12 hours).
- Rebuild – If there are any issues with a user’s Workspace that cannot be resolved, you can rebuild the Workspace to its original state. This will rebuild the WorkSpace C drive and will restore the contents of the D drive the last automatic backup (D drive backups occur every 12 hours).
- Stop – Stops the user’s WorkSpace.
- Terminate – Deletes the WorkSpace permanently. Please note that if a WorkSpace is deleted, all contents will be lost. If a user has been storing configurations and documents on their D drive, then these will be permanently removed.
- Schedule Termination – You can schedule a termination of a WorkSpace by entering the date and time of termination.
- Change WorkSpace Type – This allows the administrator to change the type of WorkSpace to a different compute type. This is not available to normal users through User Dashboard as they could choose a more powerful (and more expensive) WorkSpace without the administrator(s) being advised. Note that you can only change a WorkSpace type every 24 hours.
- Change WorkSpace Mode – Allows you to manually change the WorkSpace from ALWAYS_ON to AUTO-STOP and vice versa. There is no limit to how many times this can be changed in any given period. This option is only available to WorkSpaces Manager administrators.
Change WorkSpaces Volumes – NEED INFO TO PUT IN HERE
Change Protocol – If the WorkSpace was originally created using the PcoiP protocol, using the change protocol option will allow you to switch from PCoiP to Amazons WSP Protocol and back again should you require (only 2 switches of protocols allowed in 24 hours)
- Manage Tags – Allows you to add tags to the WorkSpace. You may need this for such things as billing. An example of tagging could be:
Cost Code = 2344
Department = Finance
Owner = DevOps Team
You can also use Fixed Tagging which provides consistency for your tagging and saves on typing.
If you do not want your WorkSpace to be rebooted or rebuilt as part of a schedule, you can set a user WorkSpace tag as NoRebuild = True and/or NoReboot = True.
An example is if a user is a developer user and they have installed applications on their WorkSpaces. A WorkSpace rebuild will return the WorkSpace back to the original bundle build which will not have their custom applications. Hence, setting NoRebuild = True will stop this occurring as part of any automated task.
- Change Reboot Hour – If you turn on the ‘Auto Reboot’ option in the Options > Settings > Amazon Web Services section, you can set the reboot time for individual WorkSpaces. By default, WorkSpaces do not automatically reboot, and this option allows you do set the option of doing so based on a time best suited to your user (or users).
- Migrate – This enables you to migrate a user from one bundle to another.
Other Metrics on the WorkSpaces User Tab
If you have the agent installed you will see the CPU and Memory usage of the users WorkSpace.
The available disk space of the root and user volume is displayed whether the agent is installed or not.
You can view the approximate location of a user by selecting the icon next to their ‘Client IP’.
This will show their approximate location (based on the provider). Some times it could show an edge for the Internet provider, but, normally, it will be in same city.
User last login times and dates
You can view user activity (logon\logoff\disconnect\idle) times and dates of a user by selecting the icon next to their ‘Last Login’.
This shows their activity.
This shows the in-session latency of the session over a defined period
Post your comment on this topic.